Quantcast Sansgrip Filters: Gripfit - digitalFAQ.com Forums [Archives]
Go Back    digitalFAQ.com Forums [Archives] > Video Production Forums > Avisynth Scripting

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
01-11-2003, 02:16 PM
SansGrip SansGrip is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The coding of 0.1 is (I think) complete, and now I have to write the docs . Here's a sneak peek for the impatient amongst you . No docs, of course, but the source is there if you're feeling adventurous, or want to look for bugs.

Basic usage:

GripFit(clip clip, int width, int height, bool source_anamorphic, bool dest_anamorphic, int overscan, string resizer, int crop_round_width, int crop_round_height, int resize_round_width, int resize_round_height, int luma_threshold, int samples)

Defaults:

clip = last
width = none
height = none
source_anamorphic = false, unless the source is 720x480
dest_anamorphic = false, unless width is 720 and height is 480
overscan = 0
resizer = "BilinearResize"
crop_round_width = 4
crop_round_height = 4
resize_round_width = 16
resize_round_height = 16
luma_threshold = 60
samples = 5

There are two main ways of using it, one for creating "standard" frame sizes, and one for creating 1:1 view-on-the-monitor frames. Example of the latter:

GripFit(height=256)

Specifying no width lets GripFit choose the most appropriate based on rounding etc.

Example of the former:

GripFit(width=528, height=480, overscan=1)

This'll create a properly sized frame for KVCDx3 with 1 overscan block (that is, 8-pixel gaps each side).

Currently, no border is added, hence the command above will probably (depending on the source's dimensions) produce a frame that is 512 pixels wide -- i.e., 528 - 8 * 2.

It'll work with both 1:1 view-on-monitor sources (e.g. AVIs) and "standard" aspect ratio sources (e.g. VCD, SVCD, DVD etc.).

Because there's no docs you must be brave and forgiving if you want to try this release. It's not even on my site yet, so don't blame me for anything that goes wrong .

I'd greatly appreciate a TON of testing from you guys. Throw what you can at it, all different resolutions, sources, etc. -- for example, I've no Cinemascope source material to test on right now -- and see if you can make it crash. Really pound it and let me know as soon as you see a glitch or if it produces the wrong output for a particular set of inputs.

Have fun... I'll be writing docs .
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Site Staff / Ad Manager
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-11-2003, 02:22 PM
kwag kwag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico, USA
Posts: 13,537
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
YEEEEAHHHH
It's play time
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-11-2003, 02:32 PM
jorel jorel is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brasil - MG - third stone from the sun
Posts: 5,570
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yeah,i play too!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
01-11-2003, 02:40 PM
kwag kwag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico, USA
Posts: 13,537
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
First note

Here's what I'm using: GripFit( source_anamorphic = true, dest_anamorphic=false, width=528, height=480, overscan=2)

Using "Center" in TMPEG as source aspect, the output looks Anamorphic. Setting "dest_anamorphic=true", it's full screen.

-kwag
Reply With Quote
  #5  
01-11-2003, 02:43 PM
SansGrip SansGrip is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwag
Using "Center" in TMPEG as source aspect, the output looks Anamorphic. Setting "dest_anamorphic=true", it's full screen.
What's the frame size of the original? What size is the active frame (i.e. without borders)? What frame size does GripFit produce?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
01-11-2003, 02:51 PM
kwag kwag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico, USA
Posts: 13,537
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SansGrip
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwag
Using "Center" in TMPEG as source aspect, the output looks Anamorphic. Setting "dest_anamorphic=true", it's full screen.
What's the frame size of the original? What size is the active frame (i.e. without borders)? What frame size does GripFit produce?
Using TMPEG reading the .d2v, original is 720X480. After clipping borders with TMPEG, I get 720x366 with top=55 bottom=59.

Edit: GripFit produces 496X336

-kwag
Reply With Quote
  #7  
01-11-2003, 03:11 PM
kwag kwag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico, USA
Posts: 13,537
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Code:
if(source_is_anamorphic && !dest_is_anamorphic)
	{
		if(dest_dim.width.Defined())
			h = int( SomethingElseHere?? );


-kwag
Reply With Quote
  #8  
01-11-2003, 03:29 PM
SansGrip SansGrip is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Stupid mistake -- forgot to take the existing borders into account when resizing . Here's the fix. Told you I shoulda tested it on Cinemascope material...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
01-11-2003, 03:32 PM
SansGrip SansGrip is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BTW, here's a helpful script snippet:

Code:
Mpeg2Source("thing.d2v")
GripFit(width=528, height=480)
then work out the borders that TMPGEnc will add (528 - resulting width, 480 - resulting height), then:

Code:
Mpeg2Source("thing.d2v")
GripFit(width=528, height=480)
AddBorders(left, top, right, bottom)
LanczosResize(640, 480)
If it looks right when you play the .avs in Media Player, it'll look right in TMPGEnc too. The final resize converts to square pixels so the AR will be correct on the monitor.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
01-11-2003, 03:34 PM
kwag kwag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico, USA
Posts: 13,537
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Working like a charm
Have a beer

-kwag
Reply With Quote
  #11  
01-11-2003, 03:36 PM
SansGrip SansGrip is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwag
Have a beer
No time! Try more sources, try more resolutions! AVIs! DVDs!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
01-11-2003, 03:38 PM
kwag kwag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico, USA
Posts: 13,537
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This is what I'm currently using:

Quote:
LoadPlugin("C:\encoding\MPEG2DEC.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\encoding\fluxsmooth.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\encoding\gripfit_preview.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\encoding\blockbuster.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\encoding\legalclip.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\encoding\sampler.dll")

Mpeg2Source("K:\K19\VIDEO_TS\k19.d2v")
LegalClip()
GripFit( source_anamorphic = true, dest_anamorphic=false, width=528, height=480, overscan=2)
FluxSmooth()
Blockbuster(method="noise", variance=.3, seed=1)
LegalClip()
I also tried it with "K-Pax". Worked perfectly too

-kwag
Reply With Quote
  #13  
01-11-2003, 04:03 PM
SansGrip SansGrip is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwag
GripFit( source_anamorphic = true, dest_anamorphic=false, width=528, height=480, overscan=2)
Note that for DVD sources (actually, anything 720x480) source_anamorphic is true by default. For all destination sizes except 720x480, dest_anamorphic is false by default. So all you really need to use is:

GripFit(width=528, height=480, overscan=2)

I'm planning on implementing a "defaults" parameter, which you'd use like this:

GripFit(width=528, height=480, overscan=2, ..., defaults="save")

From then on, you could just use

GripFit()

and it'll use the saved defaults. The other option will be defaults="clear", which clears the stored defaults and uses the built-in ones.

Quote:
I also tried it with "K-Pax". Worked perfectly too


Now... if only the forum would stop going down . Three times today, for me .
Reply With Quote
  #14  
01-11-2003, 04:13 PM
kwag kwag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico, USA
Posts: 13,537
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SansGrip
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwag
GripFit( source_anamorphic = true, dest_anamorphic=false, width=528, height=480, overscan=2)
Note that for DVD sources (actually, anything 720x480) source_anamorphic is true by default. For all destination sizes except 720x480, dest_anamorphic is false by default. So all you really need to use is:

GripFit(width=528, height=480, overscan=2)
Yes. That's the line I was testing previout to your second release. I was trying to force the aspect to see if the output would be correct
Quote:

I'm planning on implementing a "defaults" parameter, which you'd use like this:

GripFit(width=528, height=480, overscan=2, ..., defaults="save")

From then on, you could just use

GripFit()

and it'll use the saved defaults. The other option will be defaults="clear", which clears the stored defaults and uses the built-in ones.
Excelent

Quote:
Now... if only the forum would stop going down . Three times today, for me .
I might just have to move to another provider. They have some kind of mechanism that "supposedly" blocks an IP if more than 30 concurrent sessions are active. I personally never have more than 3. They told me that if many people connect to the site through a provider proxy, then if the limit of 30 sessions is detected, the server blocks the IP for 30 minutes. They have that for DOS blocking and flooding prevention. It's happening to me too, and I'm getting tired .
So it's probably time for me to look for a new provider

When this happens, please go to www.webwarper.net, and see if you can access the site from there. If you do, then it's defitively the problem, and I'm writing once more to the provider (for the last time )

-kwag
Reply With Quote
  #15  
01-11-2003, 04:34 PM
SansGrip SansGrip is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwag
I might just have to move to another provider. They have some kind of mechanism that "supposedly" blocks an IP if more than 30 concurrent sessions are active. I personally never have more than 3.
I rarely have more than one. It's been happening A LOT recently... Several times a day, sometimes several times an hour. Down for five minutes, up for five minutes, down again, up again...

Quote:
They told me that if many people connect to the site through a provider proxy, then if the limit of 30 sessions is detected, the server blocks the IP for 30 minutes
I'm accessing it through my own web proxy, but no-one else using the proxy (i.e. my wife and kids) are on KVCD.net .

Quote:
When this happens, please go to www.webwarper.net, and see if you can access the site from there. If you do, then it's defitively the problem
Good idea, I'll give that a try .
Reply With Quote
  #16  
01-11-2003, 04:42 PM
SansGrip SansGrip is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
To sum up the usage for everyone until the docs are ready, what you'll mostly be using is this:

GripFit(352, 240, overscan=x)

where overscan is 0, 1, 2, whatever you usually use in FitCD. Or...

GripFit(352, 480, overscan=x)
GripFit(528, 480, overscan=x)
GripFit(704, 480, overscan=x)

and so on. If you want to produce 1:1 square-pixels view-on-your-monitor output, use

GripFit(height=256)

or...

GripFit(height=384)
GripFit(height=190)

or whatever. It'll choose the correct width to maintain the aspect ratio for you.

The option most often changed from default, I suspect, will be the resizer parameter. If you like Lanczos, use

GripFit(width=528, height=480, resizer="LanczosResize")

GripFit doesn't check what you specify as the resizer (you can use anything: bilinear, bicubic, Lanczos, simple, point...), so if you get a weird error try checking for a typo. Note that currently there's no facility for specifying a and b values for bicubic -- that'll be in the next release.

You'll only need to touch the other options if you have some weird situation, like a 720x480 DVD that isn't anamorphic (very rare these days), or your player is able to play anamorphic KVCDs (even rarer). In the first circumstance, you would use:

GripFit(528, 480, source_anamorphic=false)

In the second, you would use:

GripFit(528, 480, dest_anamorphic=true)

Other options are generally best left at the defaults unless you really know what you're doing (e.g. you desperately want Avisynth to crash, in which case go ahead and change the resize_round_width to 1 ).

Now back to writing docs......
Reply With Quote
  #17  
01-11-2003, 04:45 PM
kwag kwag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico, USA
Posts: 13,537
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Got one that bombed here SansGrip. It's the movie "Siege". The movie is NOT anamorphic. At least, that's what FitCD says

Here's the data:

Read from .d2v: 720x480
Cropped borders on TMPEG: 720x274

Read value on TMPEG with GripFit when .avs opens: 496x192

The .avs reads: GripFit( width=528, height=480, overscan=2)

I adjusted the .avs line to: GripFit( source_anamorphic = false, dest_anamorphic=false, width=528, height=480, overscan=2) and now it's perfect
The information read from DVD2AVI on the VOBs is: Aspect ratio of 4:3 720x480

After the adjustment, TMPEG opens the .avs as: 496x256

-kwag
Reply With Quote
  #18  
01-11-2003, 04:48 PM
kwag kwag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico, USA
Posts: 13,537
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I guess we're posting almost at the same time
Reply With Quote
  #19  
01-11-2003, 04:50 PM
SansGrip SansGrip is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwag
The movie is NOT anamorphic.
There's the problem. GripFit assumes all 720x480 sources are anamorphic (a pretty good assumption on the whole, since almost every DVD is anamorphic). As you discovered, you have to set source_anamorphic=false .

BTW, the reason FitCD knows this and GripFit doesn't is because FitCD gets the information from the .d2v file, while all GripFit has to go on is the clip's frame size and frame rate .
Reply With Quote
  #20  
01-11-2003, 04:54 PM
SansGrip SansGrip is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yummy. This filter is delicious .
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SansGrip Filters: Which plug-in has GripFit()? sking1001 Avisynth Scripting 6 09-14-2004 10:02 AM
SansGrip Filters: How do I use Gripcrop/gripfit? telemike Avisynth Scripting 3 09-12-2003 03:44 AM
SansGrip Filters: About GripFit... muaddib Avisynth Scripting 6 02-25-2003 09:15 PM
SansGrip Filters: Using GripFit with 1.78:1 sources? Virtual7 Avisynth Scripting 3 02-15-2003 08:46 PM
SansGrip Filters: Trying to find the GripFIt, GripCrop and GripSize filters Bud Avisynth Scripting 4 01-19-2003 06:40 PM




 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 PM  —  vBulletin © Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd