Quantcast Optimal or Girv for Divx Encodes? - digitalFAQ.com Forums [Archives]
  #1  
08-25-2003, 07:22 PM
Reno Reno is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The subject pretty much sums it up. Which one do you use, and why??
__________________
"There are two rules for ultimate success in life.
1. Never tell everything you know."
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Site Staff / Ad Manager
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-25-2003, 07:45 PM
incognito incognito is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I just so happen to be using this one.
Code:
###################################################################### 
# Based on Optimized Script to remove DCT Blocks by Girv and DialHot # 
###################################################################### 
############## 
# Parameters # 
############## 
#Use 720 or 352 to KDVD, 528 352 to K(S)VCD 
m_width=704
#subtitle="name_of_the_subtitle.smi" # Add a # in the beginning of this line if you 
#don't need subtitles.movie="name of the movie.avi" 
myoverscan=1 # Test values from 0 to 3 here. Bigger files produce more quality but #a value too big will cause undesirable black borders on your TV. 



########## 
# script # 
########## 
AviSource("G:\Ripps\Current\anymovie.avi", false)

#Post-Process 
Blockbuster(method="noise",detail_min=1,detail_max=8,variance=0.3,seed=5823) 
ATC(1,2,4,0.5,false) 
TemporalSoften(2,7,7,3,2) 
Blockbuster(method="noise",detail_min=1,detail_max=10,variance=0.5,seed=5823) 

#Resize, overscan and borders 

gripCrop(m_width, 480, overscan=myoverscan,source_anamorphic=false,dest_anamorphic=false) 
GripSize(resizer="lanczosresize") 
GripBorders() 

#Subtitles # 
############ 
#TextSub(subtitle) # Add a # in the begining of this line if you don't need subtitles. 

converttoyuy2()
And damn it looks good.
__________________
I own a Philips DVD 701. NTSC.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
08-25-2003, 09:08 PM
Reno Reno is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Looks good. I'll have to try that soon. Re: ATC, is that another avisynth filter or is it already plugged in? Also, will I need any new filters other than those that come with the latest Moviestacker?
__________________
"There are two rules for ultimate success in life.
1. Never tell everything you know."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
08-25-2003, 10:12 PM
incognito incognito is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You need AVISynth 2.5 along with Blockbuster for 2.5 and ATC. The full guide is here:
http://www.kvcd.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5142&start=0
And the filters are here:
http://www.avisynth.org/~warpenterprises/

Enjoy. I know I did.
__________________
I own a Philips DVD 701. NTSC.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
08-26-2003, 03:15 AM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by incognito
I just so happen to be using this one [..] And damn it looks good.
Just two things I did based more on thinking that really on experiment :

1/ do the last blockbuster after the resizing as else this one will crunch some of the noise added by blockbuster and the effect will be less efficient.

2/ the seed used for both blockbuster lines must be different else you have two time the noise on exactly the same pixels off the picture. That's a derivate of random number generation based on a seed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
08-26-2003, 09:19 AM
vmesquita vmesquita is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,726
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Dialhot,

Great ideas! What value can I use in the second blockbuster as seed? I was thinking about trying BlindPP() before all the filters... Just some extra thoughts...

[]'s
Vmesquita
Reply With Quote
  #7  
08-26-2003, 09:32 AM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The seed is only a starting point for the randomizer, you can put whatever you want. I use to put "5823" and "5623".
Reply With Quote
  #8  
08-26-2003, 09:08 PM
incognito incognito is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm not a pro at writing scripts yet, so it should look like this?
Code:
###################################################################### 
# Based on Optimized Script to remove DCT Blocks by Girv and DialHot # 
###################################################################### 
############## 
# Parameters # 
############## 
#Use 720 or 352 to KDVD, 528 352 to K(S)VCD 
m_width=480
#subtitle="name_of_the_subtitle.smi" # Add a # in the beginning of this line if you 
#don't need subtitles.movie="name of the movie.avi" 
myoverscan=1 # Test values from 0 to 3 here. Bigger files produce more quality but #a value too big will cause undesirable black borders on your TV. 



########## 
# script # 
########## 
AviSource("G:\Ripps\animation.avi", false)

#Post-Process 
Blockbuster(method="noise",detail_min=1,detail_max=8,variance=0.3,seed=5823) 
ATC(1,2,4,0.5,false) 
TemporalSoften(2,7,7,3,2) 

#Resize, overscan and borders 

gripCrop(m_width, 480, overscan=myoverscan,source_anamorphic=false,dest_anamorphic=false) 
GripSize(resizer="lanczosresize") 
Blockbuster(method="noise",detail_min=1,detail_max=10,variance=0.5,seed=5623) 
GripBorders() 

#Subtitles # 
############ 
#TextSub(subtitle) # Add a # in the begining of this line if you don't need subtitles. 

converttoyuy2()
__________________
I own a Philips DVD 701. NTSC.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
08-27-2003, 03:46 AM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think it's ok. You should try without the last convertToYuY2 as I never use it and everything is ok on my PC. It depends on the codec pack you have I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
08-27-2003, 08:31 AM
vmesquita vmesquita is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,726
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DialHot,

Converttoyuy2() is needed for CCE unless you have a yu12 decoder, I guess there is one that comes with FFVFW.

[]'s
Vmesquita
Reply With Quote
  #11  
08-27-2003, 08:44 AM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yu12 or yv12 ?

Because everything is already in yv12 in your script, no ?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
08-27-2003, 09:07 AM
vmesquita vmesquita is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,726
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DialHot,

Spell error, I meant yv12. Everything in the script is already yv12, but CCE only accepts yuy2 input unless you have a yv12 decoder.

[]'s
Vmesquita
Reply With Quote
  #13  
08-27-2003, 10:19 PM
incognito incognito is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So if I'm using TMPGEnc I don't need
Code:
converttoyuy2()
Cool. Thanks.
__________________
I own a Philips DVD 701. NTSC.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
08-28-2003, 03:19 AM
boeddha boeddha is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I use Girv/Dialhot script and I like the quality very much but there's not so much compression. Has anyone some ideas which filter I can ad to get a smaller filesize without affecting quality. Encoding time doesn't matter.

Thanx
Reply With Quote
  #15  
08-28-2003, 05:53 AM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boeddha
I use Girv/Dialhot script and I like the quality very much but there's not so much compression. Has anyone some ideas which filter I can ad to get a smaller filesize without affecting quality. Encoding time doesn't matter.
I don't know what you call "not so much compression" but having a MPEG1 KVCD at the end that is the same size than the original MPEG4 avi file, I call that "a godam' good compression" !
With old SVCD we need twice the size in MPEG2 than in MPEG4.

Btw, If you want to drop a little the size, you can change Lanczos resizer to Bicubic (and perhaps then, add a "asharp(1,4)" just after the resizing).
Reply With Quote
  #16  
08-28-2003, 06:22 AM
boeddha boeddha is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
@ Dialhot

Of course there's "godam good compression" as you say it. What I meant was in comparison with the ma script the filesize (with constant cq) is bigger. So I have to down the cq with something like 4 points in comparison withe the ma script. Maybe this wasn't so clear because my english is not so good. I didn't mean to say that kvcd doesn't give good compression. I asked if there maybe were some filters that could give me some more compression without affecting quality.

You did give me some advise so I will look If change to bicubic will give me some smaller filesize.

thanx
Reply With Quote
  #17  
08-28-2003, 07:40 AM
vmesquita vmesquita is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,726
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
boeddha,

The main purpose of the Girv script is kill DCT blocks that are very common in DivX source. Since that is done in part by adding noise, it's hard to getter a better compression than the MA script. But of course we don't want better compression at all costs, we want better compression but also the better picture. I wouldn't mind lowering the CQ if I know that in the end my movie will look better because some of the weekness of the sources has (almost) gone away.
As Dialhot said, you can try bicubic, a less sharp picture will of course be more compressible...

[]'s
Vmesquita
Reply With Quote
  #18  
08-28-2003, 07:46 AM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You can also do a very slight blur on the luma (slight because MPEG4 already soften a lot).

Try : MergeLuma(Blur(0.1)) after all the other filters (just before resizing).
Reply With Quote
  #19  
08-30-2003, 04:44 PM
Reno Reno is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey guys, are you using CQ_VBR or CQ for your encodes? According to Kwag, CQ_VBR is better with Blockbuster...
__________________
"There are two rules for ultimate success in life.
1. Never tell everything you know."
Reply With Quote
  #20  
08-30-2003, 05:09 PM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I know what said Kwag about this, but blockbuster is efficient even in CQ mode. Perhaps less efficient, but efficient enought.

So, as already told in an other thread what I use is : CQ_VBR for VCD res and CQ for res above that.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OPtimal script (avisynth 2.5) Divx/Xvid---->KVCD?????(dud InDoKO Convertir y Codificar Video (Español) 6 01-09-2004 07:58 PM
Why are the DivX encodes so flawed? Grantman Video Encoding and Conversion 5 12-27-2003 04:57 AM
Divx script vs Optimal script? bigggt Video Encoding and Conversion 12 11-20-2003 04:22 AM
Problema con DCTFilter con archivo avi optimal scrip divx-kv ginger_c0918 Convertir y Codificar Video (Español) 1 09-07-2003 07:37 PM
Optimal Script FOR DIVX!? Who's got one? Reno Video Encoding and Conversion 11 08-30-2003 04:10 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM  —  vBulletin © Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd