Quantcast Optimal Script v3: Here it is... - digitalFAQ.com Forums [Archives]
  #1  
09-14-2003, 06:07 PM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Okay. While answering to a lot of threads there (and screwing up a post from vmesquita - I appologize again ), I was working on a new script to use with AVi->KVCD encoding.

There is the script :
Code:
AviSource("movie.avi",false)
BlindPP(cpu=4)
Blockbuster(method="noise",detail_min=1,detail_max=3,variance=0.1,seed=1)
ATC(2,3,5,0.5,false)
GripCrop(HEIGHT, WIDTH, overscan=1, source_anamorphic=false)
GripSize(resizer="LanczosResize")
Undot()
TemporalSoften(2,7,7,3,2)
DCTFilter(1,1,1,1,1,1,0.5,0)
GripBorders()
I tested it with a 480x480 target resolution. You must turn off all postprocessing done by codecs (Divx or Xvid) to use this script. That is important.

Here are the results of benchmark I did :

benchmark 1: Finding CQ with CQMatic for a 1h30 Divx movie

Script V1 : CQ = 74.62
Script V2 : CQ = 71.2
Script V3 : CQ = 74.13

benchmark 2: time and file size of the encoding of one minute from an Xvid movie (CQ=70 for all)

Script V1 : time : 2'47" - file size : 3370
Script V2 : time : 2'39" - file size : 3530
Script V3 : time : 2'46" - file size : 3362

benchmark 3: visual evaluation of the results of the benchmark #2

Script V1 : Some blocks presents but lot of details are killed (berely impossible to see eyes of people in second plan)

Script V2 : Lot of blocks, lot of details. But quality is somehow poor.

Script V3 : Same blocks than V1 but picture a lot more sharpen (close to V2).

I let you play with this.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Site Staff / Ad Manager
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-14-2003, 08:24 PM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Please note that I've just modified some values in the script. I you took it before this present post, check the new script.
Thanks !

(the new values result in less mosquitoes and a smaller file. In fact I deed a mistake in the previous post on the variance of the noise - 1 insteed of 0.1 !)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-15-2003, 08:50 AM
vmesquita vmesquita is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,726
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Dialhot,

Update the Optimal Script post. I have been using this combination of filters for a while (the same filters you suggest, just different order and an extra blockbuster, and some different parameters) and they were giving me great results. I guess that with this script you suggested results should be even better! I can't wait to try!

[]'s
VMesquita
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-15-2003, 10:05 AM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
In fact yesterday when I saw you used this combination, I was smiling as you told you should not use it, and I know you were a little wrong. After you post an other thread telling that in fact, that's a good combination : that removed part of the surprise of "my" new script .

n fact you're right, all is in the order and values. My goal was to have a visual result on sharpening close to V2 but with file size and block removal of V1. I think I find somethign correct.

But everything ask to be enhanced. So... go to work
Reply With Quote
  #5  
09-15-2003, 01:15 PM
incognito incognito is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Whenever I try to encode at 480x480 with any script I end up with a stretched picture. Im currently working with an avi encoded at 640x256. What can I do to the script to get it to fit my target value of 480x480 without stretching the picture? Also how do I turn off all postprocessing done by codecs?
__________________
I own a Philips DVD 701. NTSC.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
09-15-2003, 03:27 PM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Steched ? Did you think to put "source_anamorphic=false" into the gripcrop line ? Because I do not know a lot of avi that are anamorphic
Reply With Quote
  #7  
09-15-2003, 03:35 PM
bigggt bigggt is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: IamCanadian
Posts: 848
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Having trouble with Blind PP line

Tmpge error

Quote:
Blind PP need mod 16 width
I just copied and pasted and left as blind pp(cpu=4),don't know if i have to change anything also how do you shut off the divx and xvid post processing

thanx
Reply With Quote
  #8  
09-15-2003, 03:38 PM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How, didn't know that. My soruce was already with a width mod 16.

In this case, put all filters (blinbPP, blockbuster and ATC) after gripcrop and gripsize. But this solution has to be tested : result can't be predicted.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
09-15-2003, 03:49 PM
vmesquita vmesquita is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,726
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I guess blindpp() won't work right if you resize the clip, because it uses the DCT blocks of the picture to do post-processing. What I do in this cases is change the avisource line for something like this:

AVISource("mymovie.avi").addborders(0,8,0,0)

Please check the size of your source to see if it is the height or the width that is not divisible by 16, and add 8 pixels in that direction.

This extra 8 pixels of black borders will eventually be removed during gripcrop.

[]'s
VMesquita
Reply With Quote
  #10  
09-15-2003, 04:32 PM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmesquita
This extra 8 pixels of black borders will eventually be removed during gripcrop.
Hey, that's right ! That is very smart. Well done !
Reply With Quote
  #11  
09-15-2003, 04:37 PM
bigggt bigggt is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: IamCanadian
Posts: 848
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i tried it with a few different avi's and it works fine the avi i'm having trouble with has a framerate of 23.988,could this be the problem.

@ vmesquita

which is height and width in the addborders(0,8,0,0)


this is what it says in tmpge MPEG-1 356x56 24fps CQ 63.53
Reply With Quote
  #12  
09-15-2003, 05:55 PM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigggt
which is height and width in the addborders(0,8,0,0)
AddBorders(clip, int left, int top [, int "right", int "bottom"] [, int "color"])

But be carreful to that :

Letterbox(clip, int top, int bottom, [int left], [int right], int "color")

Quote:
The best way to change it is to RTFM of avisynth.
It's delivered with avisynth or you can find it on the avisynth.org site.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
09-15-2003, 05:56 PM
incognito incognito is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dialhot
Steched ? Did you think to put "source_anamorphic=false" into the gripcrop line ? Because I do not know a lot of avi that are anamorphic
I've tried that and the film is still streched. Any other ideas?
__________________
I own a Philips DVD 701. NTSC.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
09-15-2003, 06:00 PM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
With or without the source_ana=false, you have the same streching, or does the thing change between the two ?

Can you copy exactly the script use use there ?

Do you have a 4:3 or a 16:9 TV set ?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
09-15-2003, 07:59 PM
incognito incognito is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have both a 16:9 and 4:3 and the image is the same. Here is my avs:
Code:
AviSource("G:\Ripps\Current\sample2.avi", false)
BlindPP(cpu=4) 
Blockbuster(method="noise",detail_min=1,detail_max=3,variance=0.1,seed=1) 
ATC(2,3,5,0.5,false) 
GripCrop(480, 480, overscan=1, source_anamorphic=false, dest_anamorphic=false) 
GripSize(resizer="LanczosResize") 
Undot() 
TemporalSoften(2,7,7,3,2) 
DCTFilter(1,1,1,1,1,1,0.5,0) 
GripBorders()
And I've tried other scripts. Ive also gave links pics so you can see for yourself.

SOURCE

STRETCHED

Thanks for any help.
__________________
I own a Philips DVD 701. NTSC.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
09-15-2003, 08:19 PM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lol. Okay. Excuse me but the picture is not stetched at all.

480*480 is a square. Your TV set is rectangular. The final picture on your TV set will be the equivalent of 640*480 on you PC screen (480*4/3).
So don't worry : everythign is normal there

You can see this in zoomplayer by forcing the A/R to 4:3 for instance.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
09-15-2003, 08:23 PM
incognito incognito is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I never thought to actually burn it and watch it. It always looked terrible so I tried other things. Thanks. Sometimes the easiest answer is in front of our face.
__________________
I own a Philips DVD 701. NTSC.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
09-16-2003, 11:57 AM
incognito incognito is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The script looks fantastic.
__________________
I own a Philips DVD 701. NTSC.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
09-16-2003, 12:48 PM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Okay. So today I change the post "latest optimal script for AVI" and if it's possible, I will reset the poll.

As I go in hollidays tomorrow for 3 weeks, I let you work and/or play with the present script .
Reply With Quote
  #20  
09-16-2003, 06:39 PM
bigggt bigggt is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: IamCanadian
Posts: 848
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
@ Dialhot

Quote:
The best way to change it is to RTFM of avisynth
What does RTFM mean

Just Kidding ,sometimes its too easy to ask instead of looking on my own

Have a great Holliday
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Optimal script or simple resize script? bigggt Avisynth Scripting 2 06-22-2004 08:17 PM
KVCD: Optimal script or ma script? vdk_au Video Encoding and Conversion 3 01-29-2004 07:29 AM
Divx script vs Optimal script? bigggt Video Encoding and Conversion 12 11-20-2003 04:22 AM
new KVCD script candidate for optimal script! Dialhot Video Encoding and Conversion 12 10-11-2003 02:09 PM
Avisynth: Difference between MA script and optimal script? mistermickster Avisynth Scripting 2 08-01-2003 09:36 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM  —  vBulletin © Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd