Quantcast KVCD: Partial Success, Lots of Questions! - digitalFAQ.com Forums [Archives]
12-16-2003, 09:29 AM
Free Member

Greetings! I'm extremely new to the world of video encoding, and even newer to KVCD.

I've been trying to run through the tutorials, but I've had problems with some of the steps. Here is what I ended up doing:

1) Rip DVD ("Eight Mile") using SmartRipper.
2) Demux Video using DVD2AVI. I now have an AC3 file and D2V file.
3) Use Headac3he to convert AC3 to MP2.
4) Use TMpegEnc (with KVCD profile) to combine D2V and MP2 into MV1 file.
5) Use Nero (manual mode) to create VCD.
6) The short test run I burned works FINE in my JVC player....BUT it appears that there are a lot of "interlace lines", seen as horizontal thin lines when there is motion. (I think this effect is called combing). When I was using DVD2AVI, it quoted the framerate as 29.97, and FILM 99%. However, the quality looked great!

QUESTIONS:
1) Why do most tutorials recommend DVD Decryptor? Is it better than SmartRipper?

2) The KVCD specs say that it is 528x480 with a VBR of 64->3000kbps. Isn't VBR for SVCD only? Shouldn't I burn the CD as SVCD under nero?

3) Won't the 528x480 resolution distort the picture?

4) Should I remove the black bars on the 16:9 ratio, similar to what is done in Divx encoding?

5) How do I get rid of the "interlace" (comb??) motion effect?

6) How to use CQcalc?

7) Am I missing any steps?

Thanks! More questions will come!
Someday, 12:01 PM
Site Staff / Ad Manager

12-16-2003, 09:41 AM
Free Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by pck
1) Why do most tutorials recommend DVD Decryptor? Is it better than SmartRipper?
yes it is. It has for instance far less problems with duplicate PGC cells (see Finding Nemo) or even thing so basic as multi-angle DVD.

Quote:
2) The KVCD specs say that it is 528x480 with a VBR of 64->3000kbps. Isn't VBR for SVCD only? Shouldn't I burn the CD as SVCD under nero?